Mary Connors Hall

Mary Young Connors traveled from Colorado to San Diego in the early 1920's with her three small children, Genevieve, Catherine and Robert. They made the journey in a model T Ford, camping along the way. Mary made frequent repairs to the Model T along the drive.

She was born in 1891 and died March 10, 1985 at the age of 93. She was a San Marcos residence since 1924 and gave 50 years of service to the San Marcos community. She started teaching grades 4 through 8 in the old 1910 school house during the wind mill era. She taught and was principal at San Marcos Elementary School for 31 years. In 1983, she was honored as "Woman of the Year" by the San Marcos Chamber of Commerce.

In the late 1930's, Mrs. Connors received a grant from the Rosenburg Foundation and the WPA. along with donations from the community and school district funds for the construction of Mary Y Connors Hall. It was erected in 1940. The hall has served the community for 70 years in a variety of ways including a cafeteria for San Marcos elementary, a dance hall, recreation room, auditorium, a schoolroom and office. Eventually it became the home to the San Marcos Historical Society. In 2009, the Hall was moved from its original location on San Marcos Blvd to Heritage Park where it is being restored and placed on a new foundation. Once restored, it will continue to serve the community as a historic museum and stand as a symbol of remembrance to a lady who loved to teach students, make homemade jelly and serve her community.

San Marcos Historical Society - Mary Conners and Friends